KAS FAS & Seminar Report

Dear KAS members,

            KAS has reached another milestone in its glorious stride towards excellence in science popularisation, by organising the grand function of one day Seminar and Panel Discussion on “Nipah virus outbreak in Kerala-the lessons learned”, and Fellowship Conferment Ceremony-2018, at Dr M.R. Das Convention Centre, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Poojappura, Thiruvananthapuram, on 31st July, 2018, from 10.00 am to 4.30 pm.

            Nipah Virus (NiV) infection is a newly emerged zoonosis that caused much havoc in the State recently. KAS with a view to discuss, formulate and evolve measures to prevent and control the emerging and re-emerging virus diseases in Kerala and also to take a stock of the recent Nipah outbreak in Perambra has organised the Seminar on ‘Nipah virus outbreak in Kerala-the lessons learned’, with the support of Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology and Kerala Biotechnology Commission. The programme started at 10.30 am by a warm welcome to the participants by Dr. E. Sreekumar, RGCB, followed by an introduction about KAS and the Seminar by Prof. Dr. G. M. Nair, President, KAS. The Seminar was inaugurated by Smt. Shailaja Teacher, Hon’ble Minister for Health and Social Justice. The minister gave a firsthand account of the strategies rolled out by the government to combat the dreaded viral attack. Sri. Rajiv Sadanandan IAS, Addl. Chief Secretary, Health & Family Welfare Department, gave keynote address. Sri. Rajiv Sadanandan, who headed the govt. machinery in combating the virus attack, emphasised  how we can be cautious and prepared to face such situation in future. Sri. M. C. Dathan, Scientific Advisor to Chief Minister and Prof. Dr. Oommen V Oommen, Former President, KAS gave felicitations to the programme. Dr. K. G. Ajit Kumar, Former Secretary, KAS extended the vote of thanks in the inaugural function.

            After the tea break, Dr. E. Sreekumar, RGCB, TVPM and Dr. A. S. Anoop Kumar, Baby Memorial Hospital, Kozhikode delivered introductory lectures.  Dr. E. Sreekumar elaborated on the scientific aspects of Nipah virus and how to contain the attack in future, while Dr. A. S. Anoop Kumar presented the clinical aspects of the recent virus infection outbreak. The panel discussion followed was chaired by Dr. B. Ekbal, Member, State Planning Board. Dr. A. Raman Kutty, SCTIMST, TVPM;   Dr. Sreejith N Kumar, IMA;   Dr. Sarada Devi, Medical College, TVPM;  Dr. E. Sreekumar, RGCB, TVPM; Dr. Mohammed Kunju, Medical College, TVPM; Dr. Veena P Menon, Amritha Institute, Kochi; Dr. Radhakrishnan Nair, RGCB, TVPM; Dr. John B Johnson, RGCB, TVPM; Dr. Rajendran K., NCDC, Kozhikode and Dr. A. S. Anoopkumar, Baby Memorial Hospital, Kozhikode participated in the panel discussion. Dr. G. Arunkumar, Manipal University joined the programme through Skype from Manipal University, by giving a lecture on Nipah virus, its evolution and phylogeny and his team’s role in identifying the virus strain. Dr. B. Ekbal, Chairman concluded the discussion and mentioned that the suggestions and recommendations evolved out of the programme will be consolidated and presented before appropriate authorities for necessary actions. Dr. E. V. Soniya, RGCB, TVPM extended vote of thanks and the function concluded at 3.15 pm.

            KAS has more than 500 life members from different fields of science and technology and the academy is honouring renowned scientists, academicians, technicians and doctors by conferring honorary fellowships and elected fellowships. The fifth Fellowship Conferment Ceremony of KAS was held following the Seminar at the same venue and Honourable Governor of Kerala, Sri. Justice (Rtd) P. Sathasivam was the Chief Guest of the programme. Dr. C. Anilkumar, EC member, KAS extended a warm welcome to the honourable Governor and the august audience. Dr. Suresh Das, Executive Vice-President, KSCSTE and Sri. M. Chandra Dathan, Scientific Advisor to CM extended felicitations, followed by presidential address by Prof. (Dr.) G. M. Nair, President, KAS.

            The Honorary Fellowships of KAS were given by Sri. Justice (Rtd.) P. Sathasivam, Hon’ble Governor of Kerala to Dr. Suresh Das and Sri. M. Chandra Dathan, while Dr. Santhoshkumar, RGCB received the medal and citation of Dr. M. Radhakrishna Pillai on his behalf. The Governor also gave away the fellowships to Dr. Annie Abraham, Dr. Bibin John, Dr. Haridas M., Dr. Madhusoodanan P. V., Dr. Muthiah Rm, Dr. Pradeep N. S., Dr. Ruby John Anto, Dr. Sabu A. and Dr. Sameer Kumar V. B. Prof. (Dr.) G. M. Nair, President, KAS received the medal and citation of Dr. Mohan Kumar B. in his absence. Honourable Governor addressed the august audience, by mentioning the contribution of each awardee and inspired the young participants to make the fellows role models in their life and rise to such laurels. Vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. K. B. Rameshkumar, and the programme concluded with national anthem.

            The event has got its own glory and elegance by the gracious presence and inspirational words of Honourable Governor of Kerala, Sri. Justice (Rtd) P. Sathasivam and Honourable Minister for Health and Social Justice, Smt. Shailaja Teacher. The president and Executive Council of KAS are thankful to the Honourable Governor and Minister for their kind gesture to accept our invitation and also for the inspirational words. KAS is also thankful to other dignitaries for their gracious presence and active deliberations throughout the programme.

             The support from KBC and KSCSTE for conducting the programme is also gratefully acknowledged here. The programme was conducted in an elegant ambience at the prestigious Research Institute, RGCB and KAS is grateful to the Director, RGCB and scientists at RGCB for extending all the facilities for the smooth conductance of this programme.

            The programme was well attended by 325 participants from various Research and Academic Institutions across the state and the president and Executive Council of KAS extend gratitude for their gracious presence and patient hearing throughout the programme.

            Expecting your active support and co-operation in future activities of KAS as well and thanking you all once again.

Prof. Dr. G. M. Nair 
President, KAS   

                                                                                                                                      Dr. K. B. Rameshkumar
                                                                                                                                      General Secretary, KAS



The new Life Members of KAS, who have not yet received the certificates or receipts, may contact the General secretary.

Please cross check your contact details at KAS Life Members list

Dear KAS Life Members, Please cross check your contact details at KAS Life Members list at www.kas.org.in and intimate any corrections to kastvpm@gmail.com